Skip to content

The REAL deal

April 27, 2010

I want to be real.  Not fake, not one thing to one person, and someone else with another person.  I want people to trust me, have confidence in me and know that I mean what I say, and that my words measure up with my life.  I am so aware that I handle peoples hearts every day.  From the heart of my husband and  children to the hearts of the people I come in contact with in any shape or form.  When I tell people they need to do better, I want them to know that I need to do better myself.  When I give advice, I want them to know it is from a heart of love, not judgement or from my opinions.  When I come in contact with people, I want to leave them with their hearts feeling a little better, more encouraged, ready to face life…inspired.  When I think of all I want to do…all I need to live up to I sometimes get overwhelmed.  I turn to HIM, the one who changed every heart He touched.  Whether they aknowledged it or not…or even knew it or not.  So my prayer for this week is, “God, make me REAL!”  So when people think or see Crystal Roberts, all they see is Jesus!

xoxo1.jpg Sand Heart image by jesstaylor1234

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 5:58 pm

    I think being real is hard. There’s a fine line between being real, and adapting for each situation. Like – I wouldn’t go to church and tell an obnoxious joke or wear red lipstick – but I would do that at my sister’s house. Does that make someone fake? or just someone who goes with the flow?

    • May 8, 2010 7:06 pm

      I was thinking of how I need to be consistent in every thing. So when people see me, they know they can trust me and know that when I say something I mean it! And yes, being respectful in church is great, and being yourself with your sister is awesome. That is being real. My point is that I refuse to be ashamed of who I am wherever I am. So I have boundaries, convictions and lines I don’t cross. Whether I am at my sisters house or church, there are some things that don’t change.

Leave a Reply

